Säulen des Islam

Breaking down the pillars – one by one


Shaking the Foundations

The pillars are the foundational structure and strength to hold up any building. We are systematically targeting each of the five pillars of Islam and praying for breakthrough.

We believe that Jesus wants to bring redemption to the house of Islam all throughout Morocco. Keep reading to learn more about each pillar of Islam and how you can pray.


Sha·ha·da (noun)

The shahada ? or declaration of faith ? is central to the Islamic faith stating that, ?There is no God but God and Mohammed is the messenger of God?.  In order to become a Muslim, one must declare this shahada among witnesses. This is so important that a Muslim father will whisper these words into his child?s ear the moment he or she is born.

Five times per day it is shouted from the loudspeakers of every mosque during the call to prayer as it vibrates through the streets of every city throughout Morocco. It boldly and defiantly declares the absolute ?oneness? of God and the prophethood of Mohammed.

The Muslim declaration stands in direct contrast to the truths found in our Holy Scriptures.  We long to see our Lord restore and redeem as they confess with their mouths that Jesus is Lord and believe in their hearts that God raised Him from the dead.

Sa·lat (noun)

Salat ? or prayer ? is the foundational aspect of every practicing Muslims? life.  In Morocco (as it does in all Muslim majority nations), the call to prayer goes off five times per day commanding worshipers to gather at the local mosque.

In the old medina of Fes, for example, 400 mosques in a 1 mile by 2 mile diameter cry out in unison.  The pillar of prayer directs a pious Muslim?s schedule on a daily basis.

Whether Muslims respond to the call by going to the mosque to pray or lay their prayer rug out in their home or place of work, they will all be saying the same words, cycling through the same positions as they fulfill this pillar.

Za·kat (noun)

Zakat ? meaning to cleanse ? is an obligatory charity with a requirement to give 2.5% of surplus earning to the poor.  Muslims believe that paying zakat purifies, increases and blesses the remainder of their wealth.

Zakat is typically made by the wealthier population as it is to be given out of the surplus of your earnings (extra assets, savings etc), not out of income that goes to day to day needs.

Because the month of Ramadan is known as the month of greatest reward, many people give their zakat to the poor around them during this month in order to gain even more reward from Allah.

?And establish prayer and give zakat, and whatever good you put forward for yourselves ? you will find it with Allah.? (2:110, Qur?an)

We long for Muslims to encounter the Generous One, who gave freely of Himself and sent Jesus to pay the payment they could never pay.

Si·yam (noun)

Siyam ? or fasting ? is an obligatory task for every Muslim.  The only obligatory fasting is the 30 days during the month of Ramadan, eliminating food, water, smoking and sexual activity from dawn until dusk each day.

As with all 5 pillars, Muslims are seeking the favour of Allah (God) through their works. But, fasting, prayer and other good deeds hold extra importance during the month of Ramadan as it is known as the month of greatest rewards from Allah.

This pillar of fasting during Ramadan is a strategic time to pray for Muslims as many are more spiritually sensitive during this month with an expectation not only for eternal reward from Allah but also, with hopes to have dreams or visions from Allah.

Ha·jj (noun)

The Hajj ? Arabic for ?pilgrimage? ? is one of the five pillars (requirements) of Islam and is the pilgrimage to the holy city of Mecca in Saudi Arabia. Every adult Muslim must make this journey at least once in their lifetime if physically and financially able.

The Hajj is a 5-day pilgrimage where Muslims from around the world descend on Mecca, Saudi Arabia to perform a series of rituals. Upwards of 2 million Muslims flock to Mecca during the time of the Hajj as a symbol of unity within the Muslim faith.

As a part of the Hajj, Eid al-Adha (Feast of Sacrifice) takes place to commemorate when Abraham was willing to sacrifice his son on the altar before God stepped in to provide a substitute. Though Muslims believe that the son was Ishmael, it is a powerful reminder of the promise Sacrifice that did come through Christ. 

The Hajj is a serious, often once-in-a-lifetime experience for most Muslims. As they gather together with other Muslims around the world, it is a time of longing to see a unified, holy and pious community.

This time of seeking makes it a strategic time for us to pray for them as they pursue the favor of Allah (God) in hope of receiving his mercy and forgiveness by going on this pilgrimage.

Change happens Together


Ramadan 24/7

Join the our community each year for the 24/7 Ramadan Initiative. Each year, we join believers around the globe to pray for Muslims 24/7 for all 30 days of Ramadan.

Hajj Community

The Hajj is all about community. Gather a group of believers – big or small – to pray during the Hajj for Moroccans taking the annual pilgrimage to Mecca, Saudi Arabia.

Other Initiatives

Other initiatives are scheduled or discussed in our blog posts throughout the year.  Subscribe to stay up-to-date and ensure you don’t miss a thing.

Subscribe and Join the Movement

Join us to start breaking down the walls that keep Moroccans from encountering the love of Jesus.


Prayer Prompts and Prayer Encouragement

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

Prayer Prompt Frequency

Sie haben sich erfolgreich angemeldet!

Share This